Page 7 - SCICU - College Guide (2018-2019)
P. 7

2018 Excellence in Teaching Awards

        The hallmark of South Carolina’s private non-profit colleges and universities is their emphasis on individualized learning
        and student achievement. This can only be accomplished by a faculty of the highest quality working in a supportive
        environment that encourages and fosters serious inquiry, critical thinking, and a broader understanding of the world in
        which we live.

        Each year, SCICU recognizes and celebrates the best of the best with its Excellence in Teaching Awards. The recipients
        are honored at a special dinner and each are awarded a $3,000 professional development grant. This group of teacher-
        scholars represents many different academic disciplines and brings a rich diversity of education, experience, and
        interests to our campuses.

        There are common threads, however, that weave their way through this distinguished group of academicians. They first
        and foremost are teachers who come to our liberal arts institutions to work one-on-one with students whom they also
        serve as advisors, mentors, and friends. They are dedicated and committed individuals who have worked long and hard
        to be the best in their particular academic discipline in order to instruct and guide future generations as their life’s work.
        They are value-centered, passionate, creative, and caring. Our campuses are filled with outstanding faculty, and we are
        pleased and proud to recognize the following individuals:

            Dr. Steffani Driggins  Dr. S. Andrew Stowe  Dr. Tracy Harrell Dunn  Assistant Professor Glorimar Blanco  Dr. Marlena P. Washington
                Biology              English         Economics, Accounting, and   Spanish             Chemistry
             Allen University     Anderson University      Finance        Charleston Southern University   Claflin University
                                                        Benedict College

             Dr. Rhonda Knight     Dr. Kirt E. Moody  Dr. Stephen Allen Baarendse  Dr. Madelyn V. Young  Dr. Christine M. Schott
                English              Biology              Humanities       Accounting, Economics, and   English
              Coker College       Columbia College   Columbia International University  Business    Erskine College
                                                                              Converse College

           Dr. Greg G. Springsteen  Dr. Betsy A. Witt  Dr. Lynnette L. Richardson  Dr. Amanda Hodges  Dr. Rick Sparks
               Chemistry           Criminal Justice        Speech            English / Humanities  Mass Communication
             Furman University    Limestone College      Morris College       Newberry College   North Greenville University

          Dr. Michael O. Rischbieter  Dr. Kelli Horne    Dr. Cole Cheek      Dr. Lugenia Rochelle  Professor Steven B. Zides
               Biology           Accounting / Business   History / Anthropology  English               Physics
           Presbyterian College  Southern Wesleyan University  Spartanburg Methodist College  Voorhees College   Wofford College

                               Individual biographies can be found at
   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12